Flogers Recall. 

“The best part of waking up, is Folgers in your cup!” 

Recognize that famous jingle? 

Read it again and think about it, then read the following- 

“I am a coffee addict, so granted every morning before anyone speaks to me I have my time of coffee and quiet to prepare me for the upcoming day. Waking up early for those few extra moments of silence and my cup of coffee is what gets me going, what gets me out of bed. I cherish those moments, I look forward to those moments. It’s my me time. My time to relax. I live for those moments.”
Are you okay with this? Is this really the best part of waking up? Do most people really just get up out of bed every morning for that cup of coffee? That early morning run? That annoying boss you have to be on time for?

What gets you out of bed every morning? 

Are we really not living for any  purpose other than that cup of coffee?

I asked a few people what they live for, what gets them out of bed every morning. Here’s a few of the responses I got- 

“Every morning I go to the gym, it’s what gets me out of bed. ” 

“I have to get to work.” 

“I live for good food, I look forward to my Corner Cafe muffin and coffee.” 

“My roommates alarm clock.”

“I have college. I have no choice but to wake up.” 

“I live for my kids.” 

The last answer was the one I was most satisfied with. 

Do we live for any greater purpose? 

It’s kinda like the phrase many dieters use- “Don’t live to eat, but eat to live.” 

But what are you living for? 

Do you ever stop and think- what am I doing with my life? 

A general 20-40 college/ post college aged unmarried, (maybe married) American I would imagine if they honestly asked themselves that question would get scared. 

I think we are too afraid to ask ourselves that question so we don’t. We just keep surviving. 

Stop surviving and start living!

Start asking yourself questions like, what drives you? What gives you an innate sense of happiness? Now I don’t mean laughing at a funny TV show. I mean real happiness. 

For example- 

Sometimes when I’m on the bus or train and I see someone who looks sad and is alone, I’ll strike up a conversation with them, try to get their mind off of whatever is bothering them, and usually at the end of the conversation they seem much happier. Seeing them smile, gives me a sense of happiness. Best part is, I lose nothing by doing it, I only gain. 

I live for making other people happy, and inspiring others to do the same. 

Maybe if we all started asking ourselves these type of questions we’d be living more satisfied lives. 

Don’t let that cup of coffee be the reason you wake up every morning. 

Leave a Reply

