The Limited Pen. 

Imagine this- You’re sitting down on a chair with nothing around you, you have a pen in your right hand, and I tell you- you must release the pen, but you cannot let it hit your lap or the floor. 

What would you do? 

You must do it. 

Ummm… 

I would imagine majority of you would think, ‘uh that’s not possible.’ I’d ask why? And you’d say, ‘well, uh, laws of gravity..’ And I’d say, 

You are wrong. 

(nicely obviously 🙂 ) 

You can let go of the pen and catch it, you can transfer the pen from your right hand to your left hand, you can place the pen on your lap, or you can place the pen on the floor. 

What? 

Yes. 

I said, “you must release the pen,” meaning you just have to let go of it, even for a second, meaning you can litteraly just transfer it from one hand to another, and I said, “don’t let it hit your lap or the floor,” never that it couldn’t be placed nicley. 

Why did you not think this way? 

It’s because we have automatic limiting beliefs. We don’t think outside the box, we think we have limited abilities. 

If I told you to try to reach the ceiling, most of us would stretch and try to reach, and fail (unless you’re super tall, or in a dwarfs house, which in that case you wouldn’t stretch) but realistically, why don’t you just stand on a table and touch it?

We have the tools right in front of us! We have the ability to do so much if we just look around ourselves and use the commodities that the world offers at its desposle. 

(No I’m not talking about becoming an organic farmer)

But you have a goal of becoming a world famous speaker? Well then you have all the tools you need! As long as your not mute and living on a deserted island alone you can reach your goal by using anybody! (That’s not deaf, unless you know sign language.) 

I like to use the image of a ladder, you want to get to the top but you have to take each rung at a time. It’s the same thing. You got to see the long term goal, but take each day as it comes to get you closer and closer, don’t let your limiting beliefs keep you on the same rung for too long. 

One last thing- a superficial example of when I let my limiting beliefs stop me from a full night of sleep. 

I’m currently living in Israel as you know, and the weather is extremely hot in this time of year. My apartment has no air conditioning. Last night, it was 85 degrees in my room and I could not sleep. There was a point where I decided to put a bikini on, it was so hot. I didn’t know what to do with myself. I had the realization at 4:30am that I was not sleeping for the night, so that was it. So I just got out of bed and did some work. At 7:00am I went to the school building to get some coffee and there was, to my suprise, a quarter of my apartment with their sleeping bags and eye masks sound alseep in the comfortable air conditioned classroom. Ouch. I could’ve had a nice night like them if I had thought for a moment outside my limiting beliefs that I was screwed for the night.

Now, how will you release the pen?


Leave a Reply

